Jonas’s First Memory by Ian L

In The Giver by Louis Lowry Jonas is being trained as a Receiver. The current Receiver gives Jonas memories. This is Jonas’s job: to hold the memories for his community. The first memory that the Receiver (The Giver) gives Jonas, is sledding down a hill. Jonas did not know what downhill, snow, or sled meant, but after many more memories he understood.

If I was the Giver and had to give Jonas his first memory, I would give him a memory of the beach. I would have him lying on the sand, and see all the different colors at the beach: yellow, green, blue. All of these would see. He would also learn about the ocean. This would be a nice memory for him.

~~~==lllll==~~~

Picture from Wikimedia Commons

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~==lllllllllllllllll==~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One Response

  1. 18conorz at |

    I think that that would be a good memory to give Jonas. I think it would show him how much the community is missing.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar